Smart Factory in Mönchengladbach put into operation

Industry 4.0 is a term used to refer to the intelligent linking of all production processes in a company. The digital age is well underway at Rhenus Lub. With the comprehensive modernisation of our grease factory, we made a quantum leap in terms of automation technology and digitalised production to make all our processes standardised and reproducible. In January 2015, we put our new Smart Factory into operation. The benefits for our customers are clear to see: even greater reliability resulting from seamless, traceable and reproducible processes.

Planning well in advance

We have long been preparing for our ascent to the top of Industry 4.0 in the chemical industry. When our grease factory was originally built in 2005, all production lines were fitted with electronic sensors, mixers and servomotors. By digitalising our factory, we have now taken a decisive step further. In co-operation with external experts, we have developed a solution that enables us to automate the majority of our batch control process. The new technology draws on data from goods in, storage and production.

Extremely high level of precision for even better quality

Thanks to our comprehensive process data recording methods, we can produce to an exceptional level of precision. We achieve these high standards in spite of the fact that the properties of the natural raw materials we use often vary. The intelligent use of data and individual algorithms means that we can truly master the various interactions that take place in complex production processes, allowing us to control production more precisely. And the most important result? Greater reliability for our customers — both today and in the future.

Automation Smartfactory

Meinhard Kiehl
Director of Marketing and
Product Management

Phone +49 2161 5869-84
kiehl@rhenusweb.de

Smart Factory in Mönchengladbach in Betrieb genommen

Industrie 4.0 bezeichnet die intelligente Verknüpfung aller Fertigungsprozesse im Unternehmen. Bei Rhenus Lub hat das digitale Zeitalter längst begonnen. Mit der umfassenden Modernisierung unserer Fettfabrik wurde ein Quantensprung in der Automatisierungstechnik vollzogen und unsere Produktion nach standardisierten und reproduzierbaren Verfahren digitalisiert. Im Januar 2015 haben wir unsere neue Smart Factory in Betrieb genommen. Für unsere Kunden liegt der Vorteil klar auf der Hand: Noch mehr Sicherheit durch lückenlos nachverfolgbare und reproduzierbare Verfahren.

Planung von langer Hand

Den Sprung an die Spitze von Industrie 4.0 in der chemischen Industrie haben wir von langer Hand vorbereitet. Bereits bei der Errichtung unserer Fettfabrik im Jahr 2005 wurden alle Produktionslinien mit elektronischen Sensoren, Rührwerken und Stellmotoren ausgerüstet. Mit der Digitalisierung sind wir nun den entscheidenden Schritt weiter gegangen. Gemeinsam mit externen Experten haben wir eine Lösung entwickelt, die eine weitgehend automatisierte Chargensteuerung ermöglicht. Die neue Technik bündelt alle Daten aus Wareneingang, Lager und Produktion.

Höchste Präzision für noch mehr Qualität

Dank der vollständigen Prozessdatenerfassung gelingt die Produktion mit höchster Präzision. Und das, obwohl oft natürliche Rohstoffe mit schwankenden Eigenschaften zum Einsatz kommen. Die sinnvolle Nutzung von Daten und individuellen Algorithmen erlaubt uns, die verschiedensten Wechselwirkungen in der komplexen Produktion noch besser zu beherrschen und die Produktion genauer zu steuern. Das bedeutet vor allem eines: Mehr Sicherheit für unsere Kunden – heute und in Zukunft.

Schaubild Automatisierung

Meinhard Kiehl
Direktor Marketing und
Produktmanagement

Telefon +49 2161 5869-84
kiehl@rhenusweb.de